Calendar Of Updates: Enigma Software Group did it again? - Calendar Of Updates

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Enigma Software Group did it again?

#1 User is offline   Donna 

  • Guinea Pig???
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Admin - Site
  • Posts: 17,260
  • Joined: 11-October 03


Users Awards

Post icon  Posted 13 March 2005 - 08:44 PM

Quote

Engima Software Group was known for exploiting the name "spybot" in its domain names and online advertising. These objectionable business practices were employed primarily from late-2002 to mid-2004.
- See http://www.spywarewa...are.htm#sh_note

Their product is not classified anymore as rogue/suspect but little we know... they are doing something again.

Quote

INFO: adarons.com / Index.dat Suite

Overview

This document is intended as a warning to those that come accross the website mentioned below.

More Information

I came accross the following webpage a few minutes ago and with respect to their use of the Index.dat Suite name, would like to warn everyone, this product/webpage is NOT related to Ur I.T. Mate Group or Index.dat Suite in ANY manner.

http://www.adorons.c....dat_suite.html
http://www.adorons.c.../index.dat.html

The domain is owned by the Engima Software Group, well known in the antispyware community for their underhand practices.

Those looking for Index.dat Suite can find it at the URL below.

http://support.it-mate.co.uk/index.asp?mod...=index.datsuite


The above was published today (Published: 13/03/2005 19:51:08 / Updated: 13/03/2005 20:05:33) in Ur I.T. Mate Group's Knowledge Base

They should know that Index.dat Suite is already in use by Ur I.T. Mate Group. Why use it in their URL? WHy not use http://www.adorons.com only instead of http://www.adorons.c....dat_suite.html or http://www.adorons.c...onseasy_EZ.html ?

Waiting for search engines to crawl their site for keywords "index.dat suite" so users will download their Adorons Easy Security instead of the what we only ONE AND ONLY Index.dat Suite by Ur I.T. Mate Group?

:hmm:

@Steven, Thanks for publishing that KB and for the alert :wave:

#2 User is offline   MysteryFCM 

  • Phishing Phanatic
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - Experts
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 04-February 04


Users Awards

Posted 13 March 2005 - 09:02 PM

Quote

@Steven, Thanks for publishing that KB and for the alert  :wave:


My pleasure and thanks for mentioning this here :)

Btw, on a side note, I love what you've done with your site ;)

#3 User is offline   MysteryFCM 

  • Phishing Phanatic
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - Experts
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 04-February 04


Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2005 - 02:16 AM

Just came accross another one (also run by ESG)

hxxp://www.spywareremove.com/blog/spyware_...xdat_suite.html

Added it to the list of site's in the KB article.

This post has been edited by MysteryFCM: 30 April 2007 - 09:57 PM


#4 User is offline   hewee 

  • hewee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - MVC
  • Posts: 4,987
  • Joined: 12-May 04

Posted 07 April 2005 - 05:40 AM

Well i'st blocked by my hosts file so I will not go there MysteryFCM.

#5 User is offline   guest 

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Non-Member - Guests
  • Posts: 3,812
  • Joined: 26-November 03

Post icon  Posted 07 April 2005 - 07:24 AM

hewee, on Apr 7 2005, 01:40 AM, said:

Well i'st blocked by my hosts file so I will not go there MysteryFCM.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>
AOL
Mee too :wave:

#6 User is offline   hewee 

  • hewee
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - MVC
  • Posts: 4,987
  • Joined: 12-May 04

Posted 07 April 2005 - 08:38 AM

Yep if it's bad we don't have to go see. :P

#7 User is offline   Donna 

  • Guinea Pig???
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Admin - Site
  • Posts: 17,260
  • Joined: 11-October 03


Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2005 - 08:42 AM

MysteryFCM, on Apr 6 2005, 06:16 PM, said:

Just came accross another one (also run by ESG)

http://www.spywareremove.com/blog/spyware_...xdat_suite.html

Added it to the list of site's in the KB article.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Nice catch again! :)

Have you contacted Enigma?

#8 User is offline   MysteryFCM 

  • Phishing Phanatic
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - Experts
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 04-February 04


Users Awards

Posted 07 April 2005 - 09:11 AM

Apologies for the delay (just got back from work).

I fired off an e-mail to them when I found Adarons, never heard back though (doesn't really suprise me).

#9 User is offline   TeMerc 

  • Countermeasures Team Leader
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Admin - Forum
  • Posts: 712
  • Joined: 04-February 04


Users Awards

Posted 08 April 2005 - 02:33 AM

I posted this over at Spyware Warriors in our 'Investigation' room, so Eric can have a look at whats going on.

#10 User is offline   guest 

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Non-Member - Guests
  • Posts: 3,812
  • Joined: 26-November 03

Post icon  Posted 08 April 2005 - 03:21 AM

Nice article and chart:
Spyware Removal Tools Compared

#11 User is offline   MysteryFCM 

  • Phishing Phanatic
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Member - Experts
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 04-February 04


Users Awards

Posted 08 April 2005 - 09:01 AM

Thanks for letting me know :)

I should also mention, the first link referenced in the article now leads to a 404 error (and unless I'm mistaken, the second one's contents have changed).

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic